LibGuides: Best Practices: Materials Policies & Practices

WSWHE SLS - Materials & Selection Policies

PowerPoint Presentation
Developing or revising Materials & Selection Policies, to include Challenges and Weeding policies.
Links to Policies
A variety of links to help in writing policies.

ALA Workbook for Selection Policy
Guide for writing/modifying and following a quality selection policy. Includes information and sample language for "reconsideration" (challenged materials).

Links for Collection Development
Resources for School Librarians is a website developed and maintained by Linda Bertland, retired school librarian.
Information Access and Delivery
The School Library Media Specialist - the website for all things School Library from Annette Lamb and Larry Johnson.
Library Girl - Blog - Collection Development
Jennifer LaGarde is always thinking about the "big" picture - the list of questions to ask is very helpful.

Mississippi State Guide for School Libraries
Lengthy but thorough document on all things school library.

ALA's Guide to Collection Development
Links and samples of collection development policies and "how to's"

Weeding PPT
Presentation from our workshop on 4/13/2016.
CREW Method of Weeding
The 2012 update of the CREW Method of Weeding for Modern Librarians covers everything from the "why" to "how" of deselecting materials. Includes a section on eBooks.
Weeding
The chapter on weeding from Managing and Analyzing Your Collection: A Practical Guide for Small Libraries and School Media Centers by Carol A. Doll and Pamela Petrick Barron.
Weeding Checklist
After reading longer documents, have a checklist handy as you're working on weeding. You may want to modify the checklist for your needs.
Weeding Brochure
Helpful, though dated, brochure.