Skip to main content

School Library System - WSWHE BOCES: Digital Collections

Information and Resources for School Librarians

Digital Collections

                                    

Student Resources

What Was There

Using Google Maps, this site explores the way places used to look.

BioDigital Human

This tool is an interactive 3D environment providing a stunningly realistic way to examine the human body

PhET Simulations

A collection of science and math interactive computer simulations

 

CODE - Computer Science

 Every student in every school can learn how to code

 

Collections

NATIONAL PARK SERVICE

GENERAL INFORMATION ON PARKS, HISTORY, EXPLORING NATURE AND MORE

 

NEW YORK HERITAGE - DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, newspapers, books, and more.

 

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS - DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

View maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films

 

 

DISCOVERING AMERICAN WOMEN'S HISTORY ONLINE

Digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

 

NATIONAL ARCHIVES

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.  Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you. 

 

The Digital Public Library of America has primary resources searchable by exhibitions, place and date, as well as by topic.

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

Teacher Resources

National Park Services

Resources, Lesson Plans, Common Core Connections

New York Heritage Digital Collection

Lesson Plans, Primary Sources, Common Core Connections

Library of Congress

"How to" Teach with Primary Sources; Includes Sample Lessons

National Archives

Professional Development Tools, Subject Exhibits, Student Visits

PBS Learning Media

Lesson Plans, Primary Sources, Videos, 

Smithsonian Institute

Find by Subject or Search 

Teaching History

Teaching Materials, Lesson Plans, Content, Best Practices