Skip to main content

School Library System - WSWHE BOCES: Welcome Back!

Information and Resources for School Librarians

Welcome Back!!

Welcome Back 2016-2017!

WELCOME BACK!!

2017 – 2018

Please read pertinent information below.  I will be sending more detailed information out in separate emails but if you have any questions in the meantime, please email me at jpfeiffer@wswheboces.org or call 518-581/746-3700.  Thanks! – J’aimé

  • Annual Survey 2016-2017
    • The survey went out late last year, and not everyone had a chance to complete it.  It’s extremely important for us here to plan how we can best support you by knowing more precisely what you want or need.  This year’s survey focused on Professional Development.  Please go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Survey2016-17 to complete the survey.  Deadline is September 22, 2017.
  • Battle of the Books
    • We will be sending a Survey Monkey out in early October for any school that wants to participate to get the grade levels and coaches’ contact information.
    • We will be meeting with Skidmore in the next few weeks to get a firm date.
    • Detailed information (book titles, etc.) can be found at:  http://slslibguides.wswheboces.org/sls/botb
  • BEDS Info
    • We will collect information for BEDS and sent it to you the last week of September.  This will include:  # of databases purchased for you through NOVELny and SLS and # of eBooks purchased through SLS for all libraries that you have access to as of BEDS date.  You need to add anything you purchase to those numbers.
  • Communciations Coordinators and Council members
    • We sent a letter out to all Superintendents and building principals to let them know what the regs are about attending meetings, and let them know who their rep is.  Let me know if there are any issues.
  • Conferences
    • We will offer to send librarians to conferences (NYLA, NYLA-SSL and Cornell Leadership).  In order to hold attendees more accountable for what they learn, we will be sending out application forms ahead of taking any registrations.  Details will follow.
  • Cool Tools Info & Registrations
    • We will once again be offering “Cool Tools for Schools” for 2017-2018.  This is an online, self-paced series to familiarize yourself with technology tools to use in the library and with your teachers/students.
    • A course description and registration details will go out soon.  Information on last year’s topics, aka “Things,” can be found at https://cooltoolsforschool.wordpress.com/
  • Database Passwords and Links
    • Marcia is in the process of getting all of your database information out to you.
      • PLEASE check to make sure everything is correct, and that all of your databases work properly!!
      • PLEASE check with your Tech depts. to see if they made any changes over the summer that you may not be aware of (IP addresses, filters) that could impact database access.
        • Send any changes to Marcia who will make corrections in our Master Database file, and inform vendors.
    • If you are on OPALS, Sharon has been adding and deleting databases for each school as needed.
  • Dates – Meetings, Workshops
    • We are really excited about some things we are offering this year! 
      • Information for meeting dates for Communications Coordinators and Council are on the LibGuides:  http://slslibguides.wswheboces.org/sls/home
      • Our first Council meeting is September 25
      • Our General Membership meeting will be October 5 and will have a LOT of information as always.  If you have any suggestions, I will be putting together the agenda soon.  All are welcome, but this counts as a Communications Coordinators meeting and all CCs are expected to be there.
      • Our Regional meeting is November 30 and will be held at Capital Region BOCES and will feature Shannon McClintock Miller who will be presenting on “Future Ready Librarians.”  More information can be found on her blog http://vanmeterlibraryvoice.blogspot.com/2017/05/write-and-share-your-future-ready.html. All are welcome, but this counts as a Communications Coordinators meeting and all CCs are expected to be there.
      • Our final two Communications Coordinators meeting will be held March 20, 2018 and May 17, 2018.
    • Events can be found on  http://slslibguides.wswheboces.org/sls/ but registrations will be through My Learning Plan; specific links provided with agendas.
  • eBooks
    • Last spring we added Fable Learning to our eBooks; one year later they were no longer in business.  We are in the process of adding them to our Overdrive collection, and will let you know once they become available.
    • Rosen additions now include Spotlight on Ecology and Life Sciences.
    • We continue to add to Overdrive. I went to their Digipalooza conference and learned so much!  We will be doing more with statistics, promotions, lists of interest, as well as continuing our work on automated access through OPALS and SIP2.
      • Reminder – the Elementary catalog is now K-5 and the Secondary is for 6-12.
  • eMail
    • In addition to personal email addresses, our libraryservices@wswheboces.org is for you to write to us and know that someone will check and get back to you asap.  Because our hours in the office may not be all day, every day, please use that address for any general SLS questions.   
  • Follett Destiny and Others Not in OPALS
    • For our Follett Destiny schools, we will continue working with you to get students into Overdrive, and to get you any training as needed from Follett.  Saratoga Springs has students automatically added to Overdrive; I’m working on getting that information out to other Follett schools who may want to do that as well.
  • ILLs
    • We continue to get ILLs for you through CDLC and World Cat.  Please write us at libraryservices@wswheboces.org for any requests you have.
    • You can find the courier schedule on our LibGuides home page: http://slslibguides.wswheboces.org/sls/home
    • PLEASE check email and OPALS frequently for requests; if you are unable to send, please let the requestor know.  ILL works best when EVERYONE participates!  (That, and our SLS funding depends specifically on that piece).
  • Library Services – SLS
    • The best way to contact us by email is at our libraryservices@wswheboces.org address.  If you have a specific issue or something personal, email us individually.  But we check the libraryservices frequently, and have a system of assigning and following up through that.
  • Model Schools and Other BOCES PD Training
  • NYLA memberships
    • We are continuing to pay the NYLA membership and NYLA-SSL Rountable this year.
      • SLS will pay Communications Coordinators and Council memberships in full as our way of saying “thank you” for serving us and your districts. 
      • For all others, we will pay $50 per person, which will include a base fee of $45.00 (for NYLA and SSL Roundtable), and the additional $5.00 for ENYSLMA.  Individuals pay $30.00. 
      • Please add your contact info to: http://bit.ly/WSWHElib
        • Deadline for ALL to add contact information (and pay where needed) will be the October 5 General Membership meeting.  All checks must be payable to “NYLA.”
  • OPALS
    • We will be sending out more specific information to our OPALS listserv but just a couple of things here:
      • Summer work included adding usernames and passwords to student patron records for the SIP2 connection with Overdrive to automatically add your patron list.
      • PLEASE DO NOT LOAD YOUR OWN RECORDS OR HAVE YOUR IT DEPT DO IT!!  SEND RECORDS TO SLS libraryservices@wswheboces.org
    • We will be offering trainings throughout the year to include beginning, refresher and updates.  As well, we are happy to come to you to train or help in any way we can.
  • Professional Journals
    • We are currently working off our list from 2016-2017 to send journals to anyone who requested them.  If you are not receiving something, or want to get on the list, please contact Deb Massa dmassa@wswheboces.org
  • Tech Retreat
    • We will be sponsoring another regional SLS Tech Retreat at Carey Conference Center in Rensselaerville April 20 – 22, 2018.  Cost to participants will be $150 - $200, depending on costs to us. 
  • TeenReaderCon
    • Due to a number of reasons, we are no longer sponsoring a TeenReaderCon in our area.  However, if there is enough interest, we are willing to sponsor a bus to the Teen Book Festival (TBF) in Rochester on Saturday, May 19, 2018.  We’ll put out an interest survey soon in order to reserve a bus.  You can get more information at https://www.teenbookfest.org/

Information Document