Showing 10 of 14 Results

SLS News and Announcements

Employment Opportunity - Corinth CSD

10/21/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch
Job Description:

Corinth Central School District is seeking a District-Wide Library Media Specialist to provide leadership and support for our school library programs across all grade levels (UPK-12). The successful candidate will oversee district-wide library operations, collaborate with teachers to integrate information literacy and technology into the curriculum, and promote a culture of reading and lifelong learning. 

 

Responsibilities

  • Resource Management: Oversee the selection, acquisition, organization, and maintenance of a diverse and current collection of print and digital materials for all district schools. 

  • Collaboration: Work with building-level staff and administrators to promote library programs and provide support for student and staff needs. 

  • Instruction:  Prepare and deliver engaging and relevant lessons to students at a variety of levels.

  • Reading Promotion: Implement and support district-wide reading incentive programs and promote a love of reading for pleasure and information. 

    Qualifications

  • Licensure: Valid state teaching license with an endorsement for Library Media Specialist and the appropriate grade levels. 

Apply by November 3rd: https://olasjobs.org/job-details/CRNN0360663-7020 

No Subjects

Critical Data Storytelling for Libraries

10/21/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch

Critical Data Storytelling for Libraries

Wednesday, November 19, 2025 | 10:00 am - 11:00 am

How can libraries use data stories to build support and resilience? Drawing on her forthcoming book and the IMLS Data Storytelling Toolkit, Dr. Kate McDowell shares ethical, impactful approaches for crafting compelling narratives. Learn to reach diverse audiences, leverage powerful story structures, and build resilience in the face of funding cuts and censorship. This session supports library workers in any role in telling the stories of why libraries and other public information institutions matter.

Our Speaker...

Dr. Kate McDowell’s interdisciplinary work examines how storytelling plays a vital role in humanizing data analysis and communication. She focuses on storytelling as information research and how the history of library storytelling informs data storytelling. Her article “Storytelling Wisdom: Story, information, and DIKW” theorizes storytelling as a fundamental information form. She leads the Data Storytelling Toolkit for Librarians project to equip libraries with narrative tools for data-informed advocacy, which has been used by over 5,000 librarians in over 50 countries so far. As of 2024, she had delivered over a dozen keynotes on her work to nonprofit organizations nationally and internationally, and many more informal talks for state and regional organizations. She won the ASIS&T Outstanding Information Science Teacher Award in 2022, and her new book is Critical Data Storytelling for Libraries: Crafting Ethical Narratives for Advocacy and Impact.  

 

Register Now for Using Data for Building and Presenting Academic Library Value

Additional Information

Free for ESLN members. Registration is required. This webinar will be recorded.

 

This session is sponsored by the Empire State Library Network. If you have any questions, contact Kathleen Gundrum at kgundrum@cdlc.org

Register: https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_pWNs6Z3aRSKBeS7N0NaLpw#/registration

No Subjects

NYS Three Apples Book Award

10/15/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch

Dear School Librarians, 

The nomination window for the New York State 3 Apples Book Award is open now through October 31st, and we need your help encouraging students to participate!

The 3 Apples Book Award celebrates books chosen by students, for students. This is a wonderful opportunity for your young readers to:

  • Have their voices heard in selecting quality literature
  • Engage with books that resonate with their peers
  • Participate in a statewide reading community

How You Can Help:

  • Promote the award during library classes and visits
  • Display eligible titles prominently in your library
  • Share information about the nomination process with teachers
  • Encourage students to read and nominate their favorite eligible books
  • Post reminders about the October 31st deadline

Quick Tip for Gathering Nominations: Many librarians have found great success using this simple strategy: Print a list of your library's top 10 most circulated eligible titles and distribute it to students. Have them circle their favorite book as their nomination, or write in a different title at the bottom if their favorite isn't listed. This low-barrier approach makes it easy for students to participate and typically generates strong nomination numbers!

Time is running short! With less than three weeks until the deadline, now is the perfect time to generate excitement and ensure your students' voices are included.

For more information about eligible titles, nomination procedures, and promotional materials, please visit the 3 Apples Book Award webpage

Thank you for empowering your students to be active participants in celebrating great literature. Their nominations truly matter!

No Subjects

Important Update About ILLs

10/09/2025
profile-icon Karin Howansky
Hi folks! We're noticing some trends in how the ILL system is behaving when requesting multiple copies, and we're coming up with solutions of how best to navigate them. Please read the info in this document and print it for safekeeping, because it directly affects how you request your ILLs. 
 
And yes, we're working with TLC to continue improving ILLs. Remember, TLC created this just for us, and it's still a work in progress. Most of us don't remember or don't know how our previous system went through growing pains as it evolved over time, too.
 
Oh, and by the way, if you don't already keep some kind of log of your ILLs, please start one. (I do!) Trust me, it will help you save your sanity. And we do periodically ask for stat counts to report to the state.
Template for keeping track of ILLs (make a copy and use this however you wish)
 
Good news: There are aspects of the ILL system that work more closely to our previous union catalog, than we previously realized. 
Bad news: We are learning that requesting multiple copies requires changing a couple of things in our workflow to make it more successful.
Good news: TLC wants to continue to make it better. They really, truly listen to us and work with us to grow and learn. 
No Subjects
book buzz flyer

Elementary Book Buzz

10/09/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch

Questar III BOCES SLS has openings in their elementary Book Buzz group.  Check out the flyer here to register.

No Subjects

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Grant Application

10/02/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch

2025-2026 Albert Shanker Grant Application Period – Open Until February 6, 2026

  • The Albert Shanker grant was established to defray the costs of National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) certification to eligible New York State public school teachers.
  • The New York State Education Department (NYSED), through the Albert Shanker Grant, makes funding available to support eligible New York State public school teachers in the following priority order of funding:
  • Candidates seeking their first National Board Certification, or
  • Retake of one component, or
  • Maintenance of Certification (MOC).
  • Funding is limited and allocated on a first-come, first-served basis to eligible candidates in the priority order of funding.
  • Resources may be found at:
  • NYSED Albert Shanker Grant
  • NYSED Albert Shanker Grant Candidate FAQ
  • Questions may be directed to shankergrant@nysed.gov.
No Subjects

NOVELny: Expanded New York Times Digital Collection content from Gale

09/24/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch
Gale has expanded the content available from The New York Times with the new New York Times Digital Collection offered via NOVELny.  There are currently two databases available on NOVELny.  The New York Times database includes The New York Times, International New York Times and New York Times Upfront.  The new database, New York Times Digital Collection, contains all of those publications plus the Digital Edition and more (see the end of this message for the full list*).  After December 31 only the new database, New York Times Digital Collection, will be available.
Learn all about the expanded collection and how to update your access links at this webinar:
Discover the Latest New York Times Collection from NOVELny
Tuesday, October 21, 2025 | 1:00 – 1:30 PM ET
Your NOVELny collection now offers an expanded New York Times resource, The New York Times Digital Collection, that includes the digital edition, Book Review, For Kids, and more. Join us to learn more about this collection and how to update your access links to provide access for your users! 
*The New York Times Digital Collection Includes:
  • The New York Times
  • The New York Times (Digital Edition)
  • The New York Times Book Review
  • The New York Times for Kids
  • The New York Times Magazine
  • The New York Times Newsletters
  • New York Times Upfront
  • NYTimes.com Blogs
  • NYTimes.com Video Collection
  • The Carpetbagger: The Award Seasons Blog of The New York Times
  • The Fifth Down: The New York Times N.F.L. Blog
  • Gambit: The New York Times Chess Blog
  • Goal: The New York Times Soccer Blog
  • International New York Times
  • The Learning Network: Teaching & Learning with The New York Times
  • Off The Dribble: The New York Times N.B.A. Blog
  • On Par: The New York Times Golf Blog
  • Open (The New York Times Blog)
  • The Quad: The New York Times College Sports Blog
  • Straight Sets: Tennis Blog of The New York Times
  • Wordplay: The Crossword Blog of The New York Times
The New York State Library’s services, programs, and collections are made possible by federal Library Service and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Action Required: Update Your Access Links by December 31, 2025 (Karin will complete this in Library.fyi)
To ensure uninterrupted access, please update your library’s links to the New York Times Digital Collection before December 31, 2025, when the old links will expire.
Instructions:
  1. Visit https://support.gale.com/novelny.
  2. Select your library from the drop-down menu.
  3. You’ll find your geo-authenticated access URL for The New York Times Digital Collection at the bottom of the Gale resources list. Replace any links to the NOVELny-provided New York Times resource with this link.
No Subjects

SLS Newsletter - Week of September 22, 2025

09/22/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch

This week's newsletter is available here: https://secure.smore.com/n/nux3j

If you have not been receiving newsletters, please let your IT department know that they need to allow this email address through their filters: kerrie.burch@users.smore.com.  Thank you! 

No Subjects

CDLC RIO Meeting

09/17/2025
Please join the RIO group on Thursday, October 16th, at 11am for their next RIO on  Zoom:
 
We Have No Money!

Many libraries are facing rising costs while their budgets remain flat or have been cut.  Now is your time to vent!  During this discussion group, we’ll talk about the budgetary challenges facing your libraries and strategies to help mitigate cuts while also communicating with patrons about reduced resources or services.
 
Please register to join us here:
No Subjects

Providing Support in the School Library Workshop (TAs and Aides)

09/15/2025
profile-icon Kerrie Burch

This full day, in-person workshop is open to aides and assistants who work in the school library to support the library program. Our agenda will include items such as working with students, interlibrary loans, best practices, and more. Participants will leave with strategies to ensure successful implementation of the library program.


 

Date: October 2, 2025

Time: 8:30 - 3:00 pm

Location: Ballard Road Conference Center

Register by September 18th: https://www.mylearningplan.com/WebReg/ActivityProfile.asp?D=18589&I=5166781

No Subjects