Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

School Library System - WSWHE BOCES: Databases

Information and Resources for School Librarians

Database Vendors

List of Databases provided to WSWHE Schools

Databases provided by WSWHE BOCES SLS

Vendor

Audience

TeachingBooks

Educators

NoodleTools

Grades 2-12+

Rosen PowerKnowledge Suite:

PowerKnowledge Life Science

PowerKnowledge Earth & Space

PowerKnowledge Physical Science

Grades 2-8

Rosen Teen Suite:

Rosen Teen Health and Wellness

Rosen Financial Literacy

Rosen Digital Literacy

-------------------------------

Grades 6-12

WSWHE SLS has also purchased ebooks!

Sora

Rosen Interactive ebooks

Gale ebooks

Marshall Cavendish ebooks (hosted on ePointPlus)

K-12

 

 

NOVELNY: (Click on NOVELNY to go to their website)

These databases are freely available to all NYS residents, through public, school, and academic libraries.

Vendor

Database

Audience

Britannica

Britannica School

Grades K-12

 

Britannica Academic

Grades 9-12

 

Britannica Escolar

Spanish

Gale

Gale in Context: Elementary

Grades K-5

 

Gale in Context: Middle School

Grades 6-8

 

Business Insights: Essentials

Grades 9-12+

 

Gale Academic OneFile

Grades 9-12+

 

Gale Academic OneFile Select

Grades 9-12+

 

Gale General OneFile

Grades 9-12+

 

Gale Health and Medicine

Grades 9-12+

 

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Grades 9-12+

 

Gale One File: Computer Science

Grades 9-12+

 

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico

Spanish 9-12+ 

 

Gale OneFile: News

General

 

New York State Newspapers

General

 

Gale OneFile: Computer Science

Grades 9-12+ 

 

Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete

Educators

 

Gale Special Collections

Gale OneFile: Agriculture, Communications and Mass Media, Criminal Justice, Culinary Arts, Diversity Studies, Economics and Theory, Entrepreneurship, Environmental Studies and Policy, Fine Arts, Gardening and Horticulture, Gender Studies, Home Improvement, Hospitality and Tourism, Information Science, Insurance and Liability, Military and Intelligence, Nursing and Allied Health, Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine, Pop Culture Studies, Popular Magazines, Psychology, Religion and Philosophy, Science, U.S. History, Vocation and Careers, War and Terrorism, World History

Grades 9-12+

 

 

Rosen Databases - Regional Purchases from SLS

 

Rosen's "PowerKnowledge" Science Suite is targeted towards Elementary but may also be useful in the Middle School grades.  Through our State funding, we are able to bring these to all of our districts at no cost to you.  Click on the titles below to link to any of them; once there, you will be able to easily switch between all 3.  Your  school librarian will be able to help you with usernames and passwords.  Ask us how to get Google authentication for these.

Earth and Space Science

Life Science

Physical Science


Click on the image (above) and you'll find everything from Cyberbullying to Staying Safe online to Gaming in this series.  Continually updated, this is an excellent tool to teach students why understanding the internet, social media and more is so important.  Ask your school librarian about usernames and passwords, or about Google authentication.

 

All content in Teen Health & Wellness is created for teens with their unique concerns and perspective in mind. Information throughout is presented using a sensitive, respectful, and age-appropriate approach. Teen-friendly articles makes complex topics understandable. They also give insight into the teen experience—crucial for parents, teachers, librarians, therapists, and others who are a part of teens’ lives and support them.

Featured Databases

Noodle Tools icon

NoodleTools is offered to all of our schools at NO COST!  This is an online tool that helps students track all of their resources citations, holds all of their notes and helps them organize thoughts.  They did some major upgrades to their product this past summer, so make sure you check out any changes if you've used it in the past.

NoodleTools has some excellent tutorials for teachers and students who are just starting that include everything from how to set up an account to using it to collaborate with other students and share with their teachers.  You can find these at https://noodletools.freshdesk.com/support/home.

If you have any questions, or need additional support, please contact us at libraryservices@wswheboces.org.  

TeachingBooks

Teaching books icon

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. Our online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

Please contact us if you need more information, including logging in.  

WSWHE BOCES Campus Databases

WSWHE BOCES staff, students, and personnel: check out our new library.fyi to access our databases!

(Component Schools: Contact us for your school's library.fyi page.)

library dot fyi

Classic 24/7 database access is also available. If you need password information, contact us at libraryservices@wswheboces.org