Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WSWHE Professional Development Resources Catalog
WSWHE SLS PD Catalog
Check out resources we have for librarians and teachers! The SLS Professional Collection contains physical items, as well as electronic resources. The physcal collection is housed at Ballard Road. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you want to borrow anything or have any questions.
CC/Council and PD Offerings 2021-2022
Communications Coordinators (CC) Meetings
(Click links below to register in MLP: agendas TBA closer to meeting dates)
October 28, 2021- General Membership Meeting
January 27, 2022 (Virtual)
March 22, 2022 - Regional
May 16, 2022
October 19, 2021
January 13, 2022
March 9, 2022
May 5, 2022
*NOTE: Our hope is to have in-person meetings when we can; however, due to the ongoing pandemic, this is subject to change and membership will be notified as far in advance as possible.
For Professional Development Opportunities offered by WSWHE BOCES SLS and other departments, visit our catalog in Frontline Education (MyLearningPlan).
Featured PD Books
Community Partnerships with School Libraries by
Call Number: 371.39 Kuh
Publication Date: 2019-06-07
Providing a treasury of community partnership opportunities and resources for innovative learning experiences, this title helps Future Ready Librarians to create authentic, student-centered experiences that address American Association of School Librarians (AASL) standards. As school librarians strive to become Future Ready and meet the new AASL standards, community partnerships can help them to build innovative programs within their districts to realize their school's mission and goals. Placing value on the importance of preparing students for the future, this book encourages librarians to "learn, leap, and grow" and form community partnerships to create learning experiences both in and outside of school. Innovative learning experiences can have a positive impact on student engagement, empathy, knowledge, skills, and local and global awareness. This book introduces ideas, materials, resources, and a step-by-step action plan while highlighting how learning experiences meet AASL standards. A user-friendly and invaluable resource for librarians who desire to be Future Ready, it will catapult librarians to the forefront of their practice and support them as they create innovative learning experiences for their students. Provides a collection of adaptable innovative learning experiences to build through dynamic community partnerships Outlines rational and clearly laid out plans for developing learning experiences in each chapter Connects the AASL standards to each of the learning experiences covered Helps those striving to be Future Ready Librarians by organizing highlights of the Future Ready principles in a table
Mastering ESL/EFL Methods by
Publication Date: 2015-01-08
Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0133832228. This guide gives current and future educators practical help for rediscovering the value, potential, richness, and adventure of a diverse classroom--while developing the capacity to professionally address the differential learning and transition needs of culturally and linguistically diverse (CLD) students. Ideal for pre- and in-service teachers, district and building administrators, school specialists, and paraprofessionals, it presents the latest tools, procedures, strategies, and ideas for ensuring effective teaching and learning for students of any native language. Included are new ways to reach and maximize relationships with parents, caregivers, and extended family members by partnering with them in appropriate pedagogical practices. The new Third Edition of Mastering ESL/EF Methods includes illustrated concepts; global connections; tips for practice in the EFL classroom; a revised framework for the conceptual definitions of approach method, strategy, and technique; an expanded Glossary; interactive video links; a revised discussion of dual language programs; and an overview of program model effectiveness. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded video. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone or with a loose-leaf version of the text for 40-65% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Blended and Online Learning for Global Citizenship by
Publication Date: 2020-10-25
By showcasing international, European, and community-based projects, this volume explores how online technologies and collaborative and blended learning can be used to bolster social cohesion and increase students' understanding of what it means to be a global citizen. With the pace of technology rapidly increasing, Blended and Online Learning for Global Citizenship draws timely attention to the global lessons being learned from the impact of these technologies on peace building, community development, and acceptance of difference. In-depth case studies showcasing successful projects in Europe, Northern Ireland, and Israel explore blended learning and illustrate how schools and educators have embraced online technologies to foster national and international links both within and beyond communities. This has, in turn, equipped students with experiences that have informed their attitudes to cultural and political conflicts, as well as racial, ethnic, and social diversity. Building on the authors' previous work Online Learning and Community Cohesion (2013), this thought-provoking text will be of interest to researchers, academics, and postgraduate students in the fields of international and comparative education. Educators and school leaders concerned with how multiculturalism and technology play out in the classroom environment will also benefit from reading this text.
Love the Questions by
Call Number: 371.39 Rat
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Cathy Fraser believes that school research projects should be less of a chore and more like police investigations. In Love the Questions she describes ways to engage middle and secondary students from the outset, fanning the flames of their curiosity and passion. Accessible and story-filled, this book provides strategies to capture the excitement of genuine inquiry in your classroom. Learn how to do the following: Honor students' passions, interests, and specific questions Embrace inquiry, curiosity, and exploration Teach students to frame relevant questions throughout the research process Develop authentic projects that include surveys, experiments, and interviews Work with school librarians as educational partners for teachers and students Assess skills, not memorization Cathy offers minilessons, practice activities, graphic organizers, and examples of student work to help you turn research projects into creative, exciting investigations for your students.
Culturally Responsive Education in the Classroom by
Call Number: 027.80973 Jae
Publication Date: 2019-12-16
This exciting book helps educators translate the concept of equity into the context of pedagogy in the K-12 classroom. Providing a practice-oriented framework for understanding what equity entails for both teachers and learners, this book clarifies the theoretical context for equity and shares rich teaching strategies across a range of content areas and age groups. Unpacking six themes to understand Culturally Responsive Education (CRE), this powerful book helps teachers incorporate equity into behaviors, environments, and meaningful learning opportunities. Culturally Responsive Education in the Classroomprovides specific, practice-based examples to help readers develop a culturally responsive pedagogical mindset for closing equity gaps in student achievement.
Fake News and Alternative Facts by
Call Number: 027.80973 Rat
Publication Date: 2018-05-14
Listen to a podcast with the author now! Talk of so-called fake news, what it is and what it isn't, is front and center across the media landscape, with new calls for the public to acquire appropriate research and evaluation skills and become more information savvy. But none of this is new for librarians and information professionals, particularly for those who teach information literacy. Cooke, a Library Journal Mover & Shaker, believes that the current situation represents a golden opportunity for librarians to impart these important skills to patrons, regardless of their age or experience. In this Special Report, she demonstrates how. Readers will learn more about the rise of fake news, particularly those information behaviors that have perpetuated its spread; discover techniques to identify fake news, especially online; and explore methods to help library patrons of all ages think critically about information, teaching them ways to separate fact from fiction. Information literacy is a key skill for all news consumers, and this Special Report shows how librarians can make a difference by helping patrons identify misinformation.